Home 9News 9The role of vitamins, minerals and amino acids

It is possible to assign to certain vitamins a particular function at the brain level. These influence neurological functions according to 4 major mechanisms: thanks to their role in the synthesis of neurotransmitters; protecting the membrane and neuronal receptor; influencing the energy needs of the brain; and through their role in homocysteine metabolism.

 

Vitamins in group B have been shown to be effective in improving the cognitive health of adults without dementia according to a recent meta-analysis. The brain is an organ very rich in lipids (55% of its weight) and is particularly in need of vitamins of group B. Vitamin B1 contributes to proper neurological functioning. Vitamin B5 helps reduce fatigue and the synthesis and normal metabolism of steroid hormones, vitamin D and certain neurotransmitters; contributes to normal intellectual performance. Vitamin B6 contributes to the normal functioning of the nervous system, normal psychological functions and reduces fatigue. Vitamin B9 (folates) contributes to the synthesis of amino acids, reducing fatigue.

But do we have any evidence that supplementing with these vitamins improves cognitive function?

In a study published in the journal Nutrients, South Korean researchers looked for clinical trials involving adults over the age of 40 who were tested for vitamins A, B, C, D and E. They found:

  • 23 studies on B vitamins (B6, B12 and folates), involving 6906 participants,
  • 9 studies on antioxidant vitamins (A, C, E), with 34,318 participants,
  • 6 studies on vitamin D, with 4992 participants.

 

The results show that supplementation with B vitamins for at least three months is favourable to cognition in general and episodic memory in particular. Episodic memory is the memory that allows us to remember.

According to the Linus Pauling Institute, B vitamins play a role in the manufacture of neurotransmitters, molecules that transmit messages between neurons. When the body lacks folates and vitamin B12, it produces less methionine and homocysteine accumulates. However, methionine is used for methylation reactions that maintain the myelin sheath of neurons, but also for the manufacture of neurotransmitters. In addition, one of the forms of vitamin B6 is a cofactor involved in the synthesis of neurotransmitters such as GABA, serotonin, norepinephrine and dopamine. Vitamin B12 deficiency is common in people with neurological problems. The recommended daily intakes of B vitamins are 1.4 mg per day for vitamin B6, 2.5 μg for vitamin B12 and 200 μg of folates (vitamins B9).

In addition, minerals such as magnesium contribute to the normal functioning of the nervous system, normal psychological functions and reduce fatigue. Zinc, on the other hand, contributes to normal cognitive functions, the maintenance of normal vision and the protection of cells against oxidative stress..

Conseil

Perinerve®

Food supplement based on PEA (Palmitoylethanolamide), Commiphora Myrrha extract and group B vitamins.Discover now
Lumbaplex

Lumbaplex®

Uridine monophosphate, marine magnesium*, vitamins B9 and B12.Discover now

Nutrineural® Omega 3

Omega 3 food supplement, rich in DHA antioxydants, 100% of plant origin (seaweed extract)Discover now

Nutrineural® Night

Triptophan, Melatonin, Lemon Balm and Passionflower and B vitamins and minerals*.

Discover now

Nutrineural® Focus

Intellectual performance * Choline, neuroserine, group B * vitamins and minerals.Discover now

Nutrineural® Tonus

Food supplement based on plants (ginseng and bacopa) and vitamins and zincDiscover now

Nutrineural® Zen

Food supplement based on plant extract (rhodiola and lemon balm), magnesium and vitamin B6./home/webastral/clients/M-R/Mywork/Palomba/pharma/yunovapharma/2022/May/12/Discover now

Gababiotic®

Microbiotics 10 Billion 4 microbiotic strains dosed at 10 billion per capsules and group B vitamins

Discover now
Senescil

Senescil®

Food supplement based on: Homotaurine, Huperzia serrata and Vitamin B5Discover now

Accueil 9Actualités 9Le rôle des vitamines, minéraux et acides aminés

Il est possible d’affecter à certaines vitamines une fonction particulière au niveau cérébral. Celles-ci influencent les fonctions neurologiques selon 4 grands mécanismes : grâce à leur rôle dans la synthèse des neurotransmetteurs ; en protégeant la membrane et le récepteur neuronal ; en influençant les besoins énergétiques du cerveau ; et par le biais de leur rôle dans le métabolisme de l’homocystéine.

 

Les vitamines du groupe B auraient démontré leur efficacité pour améliorer la santé cognitive des adultes sans démence selon une méta-analyse récente. Le cerveau est un organe très riche en lipides (55 % de son poids) et a besoin particulièrement de vitamines du groupe B. La vitamine B1 contribue au bon fonctionnement neurologique. La vitamine B5 contribue à réduire la fatigue et à la synthèse et au métabolisme normal des hormones stéroïdiennes, de la vitamine D et de certains neurotransmetteurs ; contribue à des performances intellectuelles normales. La vitamine B6 contribue au fonctionnement normal du système nerveux, à des fonctions psychologiques normales et à réduire la fatigue. La vitamine B9 (folates) contribue à la synthèse des acides aminés, à réduire la fatigue.

Mais avons-nous des preuves qu’une complémentation avec ces vitamines améliore la fonction cognitive ?

 

Dans une étude parue dans la revue Nutrients des chercheurs sud-coréens ont cherché des essais cliniques portant sur des adultes de plus de 40 ans chez qui ont été testées des administrations de vitamines A, B, C, D et E. Ils ont trouvé :

  • 23 études sur les vitamines B (B6, B12 et folates), regroupant 6906 participants,
  • 9 études sur les vitamines antioxydantes (A, C, E), avec 34 318 participants,
  • 6 études sur la vitamine D, avec 4992 participants.

Les résultats montrent qu’une complémentation en vitamines B pendant au moins trois mois est favorable à la cognition en général et à la mémoire épisodique en particulier. La mémoire épisodique est celle qui nous permet de nous souvenir.

D’après l’institut Linus Pauling, les vitamines B jouent un rôle dans la fabrication des neurotransmetteurs, les molécules qui transmettent des messages entre neurones. Lorsque l’organisme manque de folates et de vitamine B12, il produit moins de méthionine et l’homocystéine s’accumule. Or la méthionine sert à des réactions de méthylation qui maintiennent la gaine de myéline des neurones, mais aussi pour la fabrication de neurotransmetteurs. De plus, l’une des formes de la vitamine B6 est un cofacteur impliqué dans la synthèse de neurotransmetteurs comme le GABA, la sérotonine, la noradrénaline et la dopamine. Le déficit en vitamine B12 est fréquent chez les personnes ayant des problèmes neurologiques. Les apports journaliers recommandés en vitamines B s’élèvent à 1,4 mg par jour pour la vitamine B6, 2,5 µg pour la vitamine B12 et 200 µg de folates (vitamines B9).

De plus les minéraux comme le magnésium, contribuent au fonctionnement normal du système nerveux, à des fonctions psychologiques normales et à réduire la fatigue. Le zinc lui, contribue aux fonctions cognitives normales, au maintien d’une vision normale et à la protection des cellules contre le stress oxydatif.

Conseil

Perinerve®

Complément alimentaire à base de PEA (Palmitoylethanolamide), d’extrait de Commiphora Myrrha et de Vitamines du groupe B.Découvrir

Lumbaplex®

Combinaison d’Uridine monophosphate, de Magnésium marin qui contribue au fonctionnement normal musculaire et au maintien d’une ossature normale et aux vitamines B9 et B12 qui contribuent au fonctionnement normal du système nerveux.Découvrir

Nutrineural® Omega 3

Huile Omega 3 végétale, 250mg de DHADécouvrir

Nutrineural® Night

Triptophane, Mélatonine, mélisse et passiflore et  vitamines et minéraux du groupe B*.Découvrir

Nutrineural® Focus

Performance intellectuelle* Choline, neurosérine, vitamines groupe B* et minéraux.Découvrir

Nutrineural® Tonus

Complément alimentaire à base de plantes (ginseng et bacopa) et de vitamines et de zincDécouvrir

Nutrineural® Zen

Complément alimentaire à base d’extrait de plantes (rhodiola et safran Bio), de magnésium et vitamine B6.Découvrir

Gababiotic®

Microbiotiques 10 Milliards 4 souches microbiotiques dosées à 10 milliards par gélules et vitamines du groupe B*Découvrir

Senescil®

Complément alimentaire à base d'Homotaurine, Huperzia serrata  et de Vitamine B5Découvrir